Current Weather
RSSPrintFor Businesses

Go To Search
DepartmentsGovernmentCommunityHow Do I
Click to Home
Boards Commissions Banner.jpg
Ice Arena Commission
The Ice Arena Commission is responsible for making recommendations to the City Council of the development and management of the city of Elk River Ice Arena Complex. The scope of the Commission's responsibilities consists of advising the City Council regarding matters relevant to the development and operation of the Ice Arena Complex. For more detailed information, see Chapter 2, Article V, "Boards and Commissions" of the Elk River City Code.

The Ice Arena Commission consists of seven members who are appointed by the Council for terms of three years.Members consist of one Elk River Youth Hockey Association representative, one Independent School District 728 representative, one representative of the City Council, one representative from the Parks and Recreation Commission, one representative from the Elk River Skating Club, and two representatives from the public. Members need not be a resident of Elk River.

The Commission meets on the third Tuesdays of April and August at 6:00 p.m. at City Hall. Meetings are also held on an as-needed basis.

Questions pertaining to the commission can be directed to the Elk River Arena.

View Agendas and Minutes

Current Ice Arena Commission Members 

Kent Madsen
At-Large Representative
Phone: 763.441.6887
Term Expires: 02/28/18

DeAnn Givens - Vice Chair
Skating Club Representative 
Phone: 612.232.6503 
Term Expires: 02/28/19

Matt Westgaard 
Council Representative 
Phone: 763.241.0769 
Term Expires: 02/28/20

Mike Cunningham
School District Representative
Phone: 763.241.3429 
Term Expires: 02/28/19

Brian Ballenger 
Youth Hockey Representative 
Phone: 763.241.8118 
Term Expires: 02/28/20

Brian Balabon
At-Large Representative 
Phone: 763.267.7170
Term Expires: 02/28/20

Guenther Sagan 
Parks and Recreation Representative 
Phone: 763-441-3414
Term Expires: 02/28/20